Our Choirs are Terrible!

I have never really been a fan of choirs. This may not surprise any of you, and it may offend others of you. To those who are offended, please know that it’s nothing personal. It’s just that I can count with 2-3 fingers the number of times I’ve been moved emotionally by a choir and their singing. This changed today.

No sound system, no real director, but absolute harmony in voice with volume that you could feel in your guts! I’ve never heard anything like it. We went to an Anglican church this morning that lasted 3.5 hrs complete with incense, bells, liturgy, processionals and whole deal. It was all quite amazing, but it was the singing that got me. At one point, I was trying to get some video of this youth choir singing a song and I was overwhelmed with emotion and tears. It was breathtaking and beautiful. 25 kids both boys and girls with individual voices all singing together as one instrument that carried with it hope, joy, redemption and resurrection. It was what a choir was supposed to be and it moved me.

I pray that Awaken, in its own culturally current way, is able to communicate the passion and conviction and joy that heard and saw this morning at St. Paul’s Anglican Church of Ntchisi, Malawi.

Leave a Reply

